What is Common Criteria?

The international Common Criteria standard was developed to unify and supersede national IT security certification schemes from several different countries, including the US, Canada, Germany, the UK, France, Australia and New Zealand. Common Criteria certified solutions are required by governments and enterprises around the world to protect their mission-critical infrastructures. Common Criteria is often a pre-requisite for qualified digital signatures under the European Union digital signature laws. Additionally, U.S. Government customers frequently request products that are National Information Assurance Partnership (NIAP) listed, which requires Common Criteria certification.

Thales Certified Products

nShield HSMs

  • Thales nShield Connect, nShield Connect+, nShield Solo and nShield Solo+ HSMs have been certified to EAL4+ (AVA_VAN.5), ensuring customers have the utmost confidence in Thales’s range of advanced cryptographic solutions.
  • Thales earned Common Criteria certification for nShield from Italian certifying agency, Organismo di Certificazione della Sicurezza Informatica (OCSI). This OCSI certification recognizes Thales nShield HSMs as Secure Signature Creation Devices (SSCDs). By way of this SSCD recognition, Thales nShield HSMs comply to eIDAS (Article 51, Transitional Measures).
  • The Thales Common Criteria certification can be found here.


  • Datacryptor SONET/SDH, 1 & 10 Gbps Ethernet models, have been validated to EAL3, as listed here.
Watch our interactive demo Explore
Schedule a live demo Schedule
Get in contact with a specialist Contact us